October to December 2017

  Maumturks Walking Club    
October 2017 to December 2018
DateDayGradeRouteLeaderMeeting point / departure timeDuration
1st October Sunday B BunnacuneenClaude MadecFinney Church 9.30 a.m 5/6 hours
8th October Sunday B Corcog to Mullagh GlasLoretta NeedhamPeacocks (at the rear ) 9.30 a.m5/6 hours
15th October Sunday AMweelrea HorseshoeMichael LaffeyLeenane Car Park 8 a.m 8 hours
22nd October Sunday B Windfarm WalkPat LydonOughterard Car Park 10 a.m ; Contact the club if you are coming from Maam Direction. 4/5 hours
29th October Sunday B Clonbur AreaPJ Leavytbc- folllowed by the AGM
5th November Sunday C Mount GableCaroline BarryClonbur Community Cenre 10 a.m3/4 hours
12th November Sunday B Benbrack and Knockbrack from KylemoreLesley Emin
18th NovemberSaturday C Sunset Climb of Diamond Hill Joe Mangan Diamond Hill Car Park 15.00 pm3 Hours
19th November Sunday B Sunrise Ascent of Corcog followed by LackavreaJoe Mangan Layby at the foot of Corcog - 6.20 a.m Layby at the foot of Corcog 10a.m for Lackavrea Corcog - 3 hours Lackavrea 3/4 hours
26th November ugust Sunday B Maam HillMichael LaffeyMaam Bridge 9.00 a.m 5/6 hours
3rd December Sunday B LetterbreackaunPat O'TooleCar Park beside Lough Inagh Lodge Hotel 9.30 a.m 5/6 hours
9th December Saturday B Tully Hill - pre Christmas Party Walktbc Letterfrack - outside GMIT 5 hours
17th December Sunday ASheffrys TraverseLesley Emintbc
31st December Sunday
Please be at the meeting point 15 minutes before the departure time to sign in and do any final gear checks. The walk will leave at the scheduled time. In the event of adverse weather conditions the club may have to cancel a walk, this decision will be made on the day in the interest of safety. Please note, hill walking is an adventure sport and not devoid of risk. To minimise the risk please be prepared; boots, rucksack, waterproofs, hat, gloves, hot drink and packed lunch are a minimum. As many of you are aware there are places where parking can be difficult, so it is essential that we try to restrict the number of cars that we park in any particular place.
Car-pooling: members travelling as passengers should make the following contributions to the driver: for journeys up to 20k (12.5 miles) €2 per person, for journeys up to 50k (35 miles) €5 per person.